Calendula

Calendula is one of the must have remedies for anyone’s “medicine” cabinet or remedy kit, if you will.It is primarily used for rashes, abraded skin, cuts, etc.But that leaves out one of it’s really spectacular uses, that of an agent for infection, notice, I don’t say it’s an antibiotic. An agent for infection. One of my instructors in homeopathy took a dose after noticing a toe he had injured was red, swollen and somewhat sore. One dose, no need for more and the impeding or possibly immediate infection at the site was cleared up. Of course, you can do the same thing with topical Calendula, a small amount on a band aid (one not impregnated with Bacitracin/ Neomycin), change it daily or as needed and everything is fine. Calendula for burns is fantastic and to stop bleeding it is awesome. I was cuddling one of my cats at night when something scared her into taking off over my face and head.Needless to say, I had an immediate gush of blood from my torn eyelid. Headed for the bathroom, found the dressings I kept finding in my pockets from work,washed the area, applied Calendula to the lid then to the 2 x 2 gauze, taped it over my eye and went to bed. Next morning I expected swelling and a shiner at the very least, but I could not find the scratch at all, and the area never became infected. Great stuff!! It comes as a gel (my favorite), an ointment (good it you need it to remain in one area), a spray with Hypericum in it for injuries that also involve nerves, and a lotion. Getting it in the globules requires ordering it from a pharmacy, since health food stores do not carry it. But truly, you don’t often need the globules, a tube of gel and one of the ointment is fine for any home.

Such a great remedy from such a humble plant. Calendula is made from the Marigold plant!!

About sueboylern

I graduated in 1973 from a hospital based school of nursing and worked in hospitals over 17 years before becoming convinced something was off with the medical system. We would "patch" people up only to have them return in 6-8 months just a little worse. I found a book on homeopathy in 1990 and have not looked back since that time. A system of healing that makes sense and that does no harm, just what nurses love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment